May 2001

Study on the dynamic loads on offshore sailing yachts
By Paolo Manganelli - Department of Ship Science - University of Southampton

[Home - Animation - Trace]

 

 

In the last two years we have been carrying out a study on the dynamic loads that affect the structures of offshore sailing yachts. In particular, our aim was to achieve a better knowledge of:

As part of this study, we developed a measurement system that was installed onboard EBP-Gartmore and Voilà.fr for the last Vendée Globe. This system consists mainly of an autonomous logging unit and of a number of accelerometers attached to the structure of the boat (see figure below). This configuration allows us to record the accelerations of the structure in six degrees of freedom. By looking at these information we can:

The measurement system was designed to meet the constraints brought by the type of boat and by the environment in which the measures were to be taken. Thus, weight (~2kg) and power consumption were reduced to the minimum in order not to affect the performance of the boat. Besides, the system was made to be fully autonomous and it did not require any intervention by the skipper throughout the whole race.

Generally, the logging unit is programmed before the start of the race to accomplish the following tasks:

- Recording of a « navigation log »

Data like boat speed, wind speed and wind angle, heading, GPS position are stored at regular intervals (typically every 20 seconds) during the whole race. They give an accurate indication of the sailing conditions and of the performance of the boat.

- Time histories recording

When, the acceleration at the centre of gravity or at the bow exceeds pre-set threshold values following a « slam », a time history of the signals from all the accelerometers is saved. In general, the 5 seconds preceding the impact and the 5 following it are stored; as a result, it is possible to calculate the attitude of the boat at the time of impact, the “magnitude” of the impact (in terms of the linear and angular accelerations it produces) and the structural response[1]. During the Vendée Globe we have collected about 4500 recordings of this kind, each one corresponding to a significant impact.

- Statistical data recording

The peak accelerations at every wave encounter are constantly stored into histograms that also include boat speed and true wind angle. These data are particularly useful with respect to the investigation of fatigue problems: they allow us to have a full picture of all the loadings over a race.

 

In order to assess the seakeeping characteristics of the boats and to develop analytical models that can reproduce them accurately, it is very important to know the sea state at the time of the measurements (i.e. significant wave height, average period and main direction of propagation[2]). These data cannot be measured from the boat (although devices exist that may perform this kind of measurements, they are not suitable to be used on board an Open’60). Hence, we make use of measurements taken from the Topex Poseidon and ERS-2 satellites, which are kindly made available to us by the « Southampton Oceanographic Centre », as well as of numerical model simulations produced by the « Ocean Modelling Branch » of the NOAA. The later, in particular, appeared to have a good degree of accuracy in most cases and were extremely useful thanks to their high resolution.

 

Until now, we have carried out five main series of measurements. Three were performed over transatlantic passages (one of which during the 2000 edition of the « Europe1 NewMan Star ») and two over the Vendée Globe. This corresponds to 297 days of measurements over approximately 65000 nautical miles.

 

If you wish to learn more about this study, you can read the paper entitled « An experimental investigation of slamming on ocean racing yachts » which was presented at the 15th Chesapeake Sailing Yacht Symposium (available here in PDF format).



[1] Here we shall note that the instruments we use do not provide us with a direct measure of the hydrodynamic pressures. The alternative solution would be to use pressure gauges fitted through the bottom of the hull. However, this would be very unpractical, as pressure gauges need to be regularly recalibrated (something which is not compatible with the duration of our measurements) and they potentially affect the watertightness of the hull.

[2] Significant wave height  (H1/3) is defined as the mean of the highest third of all encountered waves. In practice, it often corresponds to the wave height reported by an experienced sailor,

Mai 2001

Etude des chargements dynamiques
Par Paolo Manganelli - Department of Ship Science - University of Southampton

[Accueil - Animation - Histoire temporelle]

 

Depuis deux ans nous menons une étude sur les chargements dynamiques auxquels sont soumis les bateaux de course au large pendant la navigation. Nous cherchons en particulier à mieux déterminer :

 

Dans le cadre de cette étude, nous avons mis au point un système de mesure qui, pendant le dernier Vendée Globe, était embarqué à bord de EBP-Gartmore et de Voilà.fr. Le système se compose d’une centrale d’acquisition autonome et d’une série d’accéléromètres répartis le long du bateau (voir schéma ci-contre). Cette configuration nous permet d’enregistrer les accélérations de la structure dans les six degrés de liberté. A partir de là, nous pouvons :

Le système a été réalisé en tenant compte des contraintes imposées par le type de bateau et par les conditions dans lesquelles se déroulent les campagnes de mesure. Ainsi le poids (~2kg) et la consommation d’énergie électrique ont été réduits au minimum pour ne pas affecter les performances du bateau. De plus, le système est entièrement autonome et ne demande aucune intervention de la part du skipper pendant toute la durée de la navigation.

Typiquement la centrale d’acquisition est programmée avant le départ de la course pour accomplir les tâches suivantes :

- Enregistrement d’un « cahier de bord » 

Les données telles que vitesse du bateau, force et angle de vent, cap et position GPS sont enregistrées à des intervalles de 20 secondes pendant toute la course. Ceci permet d’avoir des renseignements sur les conditions de navigation du bateau et sur ses performances.

- Enregistrement d’histoires temporelles

Lorsque l’accélération à l’étrave ou au centre de gravité dépasse des valeurs prédéfinies suite à l’impact de la coque dans une vague, une histoire temporelle des signaux de tous les accéléromètres est sauvegardée. En général, les cinq secondes précédant l’impact et les 5 suivantes sont enregistrées ; ainsi, on peut établir de manière précise l’attitude du bateau au moment du choc, la « force » du choc (en termes d’accélération linéaire et angulaire qu’elle engendre) et la réponse de la structure[1]. Pendant le Vendée Globe nous avons accumulé un peu plus de 4500 de ces enregistrements sur les deux bateaux, correspondant à autant d’impacts « significatifs ».

- Enregistrement de données statistiques

Les valeurs maximales des accélérations à chaque passage de vague sont continuellement enregistrées dans des histogrammes qui incluent également la vitesse du bateau et l’angle du vent réel. Ces données sont utiles pour l’analyse de problèmes de fatigue : elles permettent d’avoir un cadre complet des sollicitations pendant toute la durée de la navigation.

 

Afin de pouvoir évaluer les caractéristiques de tenue à la mer des bateaux et de pouvoir établir des modèles analytiques qui en reproduisent le comportement, il est important de connaître les conditions de mer au moment des mesures (hauteur significative des vagues, période moyenne et direction principale de propagation[2]). Celles-ci ne peuvent pas être mesurées à partir du bateau (il existe actuellement des systèmes capables d’effectuer ce genre de mesure, mais ils restent totalement inadaptés pour une utilisation à bord d’un 60’ Open). Nous utilisons donc des mesures effectuées à partir des satellites Topex Poseidon et ERS-2, mises à notre disposition par le « Southampton Oceanographic Centre », ainsi que des prévisions de modèles numériques produites par le « Ocean Modelling Branch » du NOAA. Ces dernières, en particulier, se sont avérées suffisamment précises dans la majeure partie des cas et extrêmement utiles de par leur niveau de détail.

 

A présent, nous avons effectué cinq campagnes de mesures : trois pendant des traversées de l’Atlantique (dont une pendant la transat « Europe1 NewMan Star ») et deux pendant le Vendée Globe. Cela représente au total 297 jours de mesures sur approximativement 65000 miles de navigation.

 

Pour plus de détails concernant cette étude, vous pouvez lire l’article « An experimental investigation of slamming on ocean racing yachts » publié au 15ème Chesapeake Sailing Yacht Symposium (disponible en format PDF).



[1] A ce sujet, on pourra remarquer que nos instruments ne donnent qu’une mesure indirecte et donc moins précise quand il s’agit d’enregistrer les pressions sur la coque. L’alternative serait en effet d’utiliser des jauges de pression placées directement sur le fond de celle-ci. Cette solution est cependant très peu pratique car, d’une part, les jauges de pressions doivent être recalibrées régulièrement (ce qui n’est pas compatible avec la durée de nos campagnes) et, d’autre part, elles nécessitent que la coque soit perforée à plusieurs endroits

[2] La hauteur significative de vague (H1/3) se définit comme la moyenne du tiers de hauteurs de vagues le plus important. Dans la pratique, elle correspond assez bien avec la hauteur qu’observerait un marin expérimenté.

[Accueil - Animation - Histoire temporelle]